معضلة الصحة العقلية

تم تصميم Big Social لمكافأة الإلهاء وإبقائنا مرتبطين بمنصاتهم لدعم أعمالهم - على حساب كبير لرفاهيتنا. انضم إلى "المعضلة الاجتماعية" في #MentalHealthAwarenessMonth لإثارة الوعي والعمل في مجتمعك. اكتشف الموارد والإلهام من صانعي التغيير ولحظات التعبئة والمزيد لمساعدتك استضافة محادثة حول معضلة الصحة العقلية.

يتم تحويل صحتنا العقلية إلى نقود

الإلحاح الكاذب والإلهاء

"لا يكفي أن تستخدم المنتج بوعي ، أريد أن أتعمق أكثر في جذع الدماغ وأزرع ، بداخلك ، عادة غير واعية حتى تتم برمجتك على مستوى أعمق."

تريستان هاريس ، الشريك المؤسس ، مركز التكنولوجيا الإنسانية

تعمل الإشعارات الرقمية على تنشيط الشبكة البارزة لأدمغتنا ، وإرسال إشارات بأن شيئًا ما أمر ملح. هذا يخلق سلسلة من الإنذارات الكاذبة ، مما يهدد قدرتنا على تمييز ما هو عاجل ويشجع على تعدد المهام الذي يؤثر على أدمغتنا.

تمرير لا نهاية له ، بحث لا نهاية له

"تقوم بالهدوء والتحديث ، سيكون شيئًا جديدًا في الأعلى. اسحب لأسفل وقم بالتحديث مرة أخرى ، إنه جديد. في كل مرة. وهو ما نسميه في علم النفس التعزيز الإيجابي المتقطع ".

جو توسكانو ، مستشار التصميم السابق في Google

يمنح الإعلان على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي أي شخص فرصة للوصول إلى أعداد هائلة من الناس بسهولة هائلة ، مما يمنح الجهات الفاعلة السيئة الأدوات اللازمة لبث الاضطرابات وتأجيج الانقسامات السياسية.

تعزيز المقارنة الاجتماعية

"... لدينا ضرورة بيولوجية أساسية للتواصل مع الآخرين. يؤثر ذلك بشكل مباشر على إطلاق الدوبامين في مسار المكافأة ".

الدكتورة آنا ليمبك ، المدير الطبي لطب الإدمان في جامعة ستانفورد

يمكن أن تؤدي الإعجابات إلى مراكز مكافآت قوية مما يخلق علامة دائمة على تقديرنا لذاتنا. هذا الاستخدام للتحقق الاجتماعي جنبًا إلى جنب مع البرمجة لنا لمشاركة مقتطفات من حياتنا فقط والتي ستثير استجابة قد أدى إلى تطبيع المقارنة الاجتماعية غير الصحية.

أبدي فعل

قم بإجراء محادثة

استضف محادثة باستخدام المعضلة الاجتماعية ودليل المناقشة الخاص بنا مع أصدقائك وعائلتك حول أضرار التكنولوجيا الاستغلالية وتأثيرها على صحتنا العقلية.

قم بإعادة تشغيل الوسائط الاجتماعية

قد تكون هذه المنصات مصممة للتلاعب ، لكن لدينا القدرة على استعادة السيطرة. خذ أسبوعًا واحدًا من إعادة تشغيل الوسائط الاجتماعية لبدء إعادة تنظيم علاقتك بالتكنولوجيا.

مشاركة قصتك

شارك قصتك مع بنك قصة #MySocialTruth التابع لمركز التكنولوجيا الإنسانية. يمكن لهذه القصص معًا أن تبني الضغط العام اللازم لتغيير النظام.

الأحداث القادمة

يوم العرض التجريبي: 26 يونيو ، 11:30 صباحًا بالتوقيت الشرقي

يقدم مبتكرو LookUp StartUp حملاتهم للدعوة الرقمية وحلولهم التقنية الأخلاقية لمعالجة أزمة الصحة العقلية للشباب. تعال واستمع وتعلم واحصل على الإلهام والمشاركة من خلال مساعدة هؤلاء القادة الشباب على معالجة أزمة الصحة العقلية للشباب من خلال تحدي النظام البيئي الرقمي وأعرافنا الاجتماعية غير الواقعية. RSVP هنا.

تعرف على صانعي التغيير

من الاستفادة من التعلم الآلي لتضخيم التعاطف إلى قيادة العائلات نحو التوازن الرقمي ، تعرف على بعض صانعي التغيير الذين يعملون لإعادة تنظيم التكنولوجيا للصالح العام والقضاء على تأثيرها السلبي على صحتنا العقلية.

IVY MAHSCIAO

ايفرمور

استخدام الذكاء الاصطناعي كعامل تعاطفي للنمو الشخصي

Ivy هي شركة رائدة في مجال المنتجات الرقمية ولديها محفظة تحدد الفئة تركز على التصميمات المفيدة والأخلاقية. في Evrmore ، تتناول مشكلات الصحة العقلية المركبة التي نواجهها من خلال الاستفادة من التعلم الآلي لتضخيم التعاطف ، بحيث يمكن للجميع تجاوز الظلال التي تلقيها التكنولوجيا الناشئة في جودة الحياة وتحسينها على المدى الطويل. البرنامج التجريبي لعام 2021 للتعليم العالي والبحث مفتوح الآن.

سانات موهباترا

غير ملثمين

محو وصمة العار المحيطة بالصحة العقليةh

Unmasked هو مجتمع داعم ومجهول للطلاب لمشاركة ما يشعرون به حقًا ، ودعم أقرانهم الآخرين الذين يكافحون والوصول إلى موارد مجانية للدعم العاطفي. من خلال شغفهم بالصحة العقلية والابتكار ، يعمل 10,000 مستخدم في 46 مدرسة (وفريق مكون من 500 مشرف متطوع بما في ذلك مستشاري الأزمات) ، يعمل Sanat وفريق UnMasked بجد لمساعدة جميع الطلاب على الشعور بوحدة أقل.

جاك بروستكيرن

سكريناليز

توجيه العائلات نحو التوازن الرقمي

بالنسبة للآباء الذين يرغبون في فهم استخدام أطفالهم للتكنولوجيا وتوجيههم لتحقيق التوازن ، تحقق من عمل جاك كمؤسس لـ ScreenAllies ، وهو فريق يتألف من كل من الشباب والمهنيين المكرسين للإجابة على أسئلة الآباء حول استخدام الأطفال للتكنولوجيا ، ومنحهم. خطوات عمل ملموسة حول كيفية توجيه أطفالهم إلى التوازن الرقمي.

المحادثات السابقة

أكتوبر 2020

جولة افتراضية في المعضلة الاجتماعية

نوفمبر 2020

مدرسة نيويورك للصحة العامة العالمية

الموارد وقائمة القراءة

نحن نبحث دائمًا عن المزيد من الفرص للتعلم وتوسيع فهمنا لمعضلة الصحة العقلية. إذا كان لديك اقتراح أو مورد للمشاركة ، الاتصال بنا هنا.

The Mental Health Dilemma

Big Social is designed to reward distraction and keep us hooked on their platforms to fuel their business – at the great expense of our wellbeing. Join ‘The Social Dilemma’ for #MentalHealthAwarenessMonth to ignite awareness and action in your community. Discover resources, inspiration from changemakers, mobilization moments, and more to help you host a conversation about The Mental Health Dilemma.

OUR MENTAL HEALTH IS BEING MONETIZED

False urgency & distraction

“It’s not enough that you use the product consciously, I wanna dig down deeper into the brain stem and implant, inside of you, an unconscious habit so that you are being programmed at a deeper level.”

Tristan Harris, Co-Founder, Center for Humane Technology

Digital notifications trigger the salience network of our brains, sending signals that something is urgent. This creates a series of false alarms, compromising our ability to discern what is urgent and encouraging multitasking that affects our brains.

Endless scroll, Endless searching

“You pull down and you refresh, it’s gonna be a new thing at the top. Pull down and refresh again, it’s new. Every single time. Which, in psychology, we call a positive intermittent reinforcement.”

Joe Toscano, Former Design Consultant at Google

Social media advertising gives anyone the opportunity to reach huge numbers of people with phenomenal ease, giving bad actors the tools to sow unrest and fuel political divisions.

Promoting Social Comparison

“…we have a basic biological imperative to connect with other people. That directly affects the release of dopamine in the reward pathway.”

Dr. Anna Lembke, Medical Director of Addiction Medicine at Stanford University

Likes can trigger powerful reward centers creating a lasting mark on our self-worth. This use of social validation combined with programming us to only share snippets of our lives that will elicit a response has normalized unhealthy social comparison.

TAKE ACTION

HAVE A CONVERSATION

Host a conversation using The Social Dilemma and our discussion guide with your friends and family about the harms of exploitative tech and its impact on our mental health.

TAKE A SOCIAL MEDIA REBOOT

These platforms may be designed to manipulate, but we have the power to take back control. Take our 1-week Social Media Reboot to begin realigning your relationship with technology.

SHARE YOUR STORY

Share your story with The Center for Humane Technology’s #MySocialTruth story bank. Together, these stories can build the public pressure needed to change the system.

UPCOMING EVENTS

LOOK UP DEMO DAY: JUNE 26, 11:30AM ET

LookUp StartUp Innovators pitch their digital advocacy campaigns and ethical tech solutions to address the youth mental health crisis. Come listen, learn, get inspired and involved by helping these young leaders tackle the youth mental health crisis by challenging the digital ecosystem and our unrelalistic social norms. RSVP here.

MEET THE CHANGEMAKERS

From leveraging machine learning to amplify empathy to leading families towards digital balance, get to know some of the changemakers working to realign technology for the public good and eliminate its negative impact on our mental health.

IVY MAHSCIAO

EVRMORE

Using AI as an empathetic agent for personal growth

Ivy is a seasoned digital product leader with a category-defining portfolio that focuses on beneficial and ethical designs. At evrmore, she is addressing the compound mental health issues we’re facing by leveraging machine learning to amplify empathy, so everyone can bypass the shadows that emerging tech casts in long-term life quality and betterment. The 2021 pilot program for higher ed and research is open now.

SANAT MOHAPATRA

UNMASKED

Erasing the stigma surrounding mental health

Unmasked is a supportive, anonymous community for students to share about how they’re really feeling, support other peers who are struggling and access free resources for emotional support. With a passion for mental health and innovation,10,000 users across 46 schools (and a team of 500 volunteer moderators including crisis counselors), Sanat and the UnMasked team are working hard to help all students feel less alone.

JACK BRUSTKERN

Screenallies

Guiding families to digital balance

For parents who want to understand their kids’ tech use and guide them to balance, check out Jack’s work as Founder of ScreenAllies, a team comprised of both youth and professionals dedicated to answering parents’ questions around kids’ tech use, and to give them concrete action steps on how to guide their kids to digital balance.

PAST CONVERSATIONS

october 2020

The Social Dilemma Virtual Tour

november 2020

NYU School of Global Public Health

APRIL 2021

Center for Scholars & Storytellers

resources & Reading list

We’re always looking for more opportunities to learn and expand our understanding of the Mental Health Dilemma. If you have a suggestion or resource to share, contact us here.