常见问题

关于电影

拍摄 社会困境 发生在 2018-2019 年之间。 在 2020 年圣丹斯电影节首映后,我们在 2020 年 19 月至 XNUMX 月进行了修改,并在 COVID-XNUMX 开始流行时加入了其他材料。

我们被吸引来讲述我们不断变化的冰川和不断变化的珊瑚礁的故事,因为它们是人类面临的一个巨大的全球问题的有力迹象:气候变化。 当我们开始与 Tristan Harris 和人道技术中心交谈时,我们看到化石燃料行业构成的威胁与我们的技术平台构成的威胁之间存在直接相似之处。 特里斯坦称之为“文化的气候变化”,一种无形的力量,正在塑造世界获取信息和理解真相的方式。 我们的希望一直是解决重大问题,现在我们将“社会困境”视为我们所有其他问题之下的一个问题。

在过去两年中采访技术内部人士时,我们一直在了解是什么驱动了我们屏幕另一侧的算法。 这些对话中的许多都揭示了一种高度技术性的、几乎看不见的力量。 与 追逐冰追逐珊瑚,我们的希望是揭开无形的面纱,让隐藏的故事浮出水面。 我们希望将算法带入生活,并为观众提供一种查看和理解这些技术平台的新方式。 此外,通过跟随电影中的家人,我们能够看到这些平台对现实世界造成伤害的不同方式,从 Isla 的心理健康斗争到 Ben 的政治两极分化以及他们的家人无法相互联系。

所有大型科技平台——Facebook、谷歌、Twitter、Youtube 等——都有你的数字模型。 他们收集的所有信息都被收集到模型中,他们的程序会不断测试这些模型,看看哪些对你有用。 在影片中,我们通过虚拟化身将其变为现实,以代表我们每个人收集的大量数据。 随着他们收集更多数据,模型变得越来越准确。 例如, 2016 年 ProPublica 报告发现了大约 29,000 个不同的标准 对于每个 Facebook 用户,这些模型只会变得越来越好。

我们希望关注问题的根源,正如为其创建做出贡献的人所说的那样。 这导致我们将注意力集中在科技巨头的前员工身上。 但是,我们不能指望制造问题的人来解决问题。 我们的影响力活动将把麦克风传递给剥削性技术的活动家、组织和幸存者,他们的工作和经验将有助于发展人道技术运动。

社交媒体带来了无数积极的事情,更多积极的事情将继续来自社交媒体。 但我们在影片中的观点不是关于任何一个问题或运动,而是关于整个系统。 

多年来,我们只听到平台本身广播的积极方面。 使我们所有人保持联系的承诺导致了我们现在在全球范围内看到的许多意想不到的后果。 通过将影片重点放在这些技术如何利用人类弱点上,我们可以揭示我们在使用这些平台时被迫做出的魔鬼交易,并创造集体意志来改变它们。

许多电影主题都在努力提高我们对问题的理解或加快解决方案的势头。 作为我们影响力活动的一部分,我们计划扩大他们的工作,并鼓励您关注 TheSocialDilemma.com。 您可以参考他们参与的计划列表 电影页面。

是的,一点没错。 我们每个人都有自己的个人旅程,但在这个问题上已经工作了近三年,团队花了很多时间反思我们自己的习惯。 我们中的一些人已经完全停止使用社交媒体,而另一些人则接受了更加谨慎使用的新规范。 我们鼓励您查看我们网站上的资源并 订阅我们的新闻 有关如何重新启动与社交媒体和采掘技术的关系的更多信息。

In 社会困境 有一段香港反监视抗议者拆除“智能”灯杆以抗议面部识别和监视技术的片段。 几个月后,这个剪辑在网上被重新利用 误导性标题 声明 5G 与 COVID-19 的传播有关,错误地传播了一个故事,即该剪辑显示了拆除 5G 塔。 正如一些人问到这个镜头的用途,我们想澄清一下,它是故意选择作为许多错误信息的例子之一,以加强特里斯坦哈里斯在电影那一刻的观点,即“我们正被谣言轰炸”。 我们邀请您观看整部电影,以在上下文中看到这一点,并了解错误信息可以传播和上下文可以扭曲的多种方式。

一些人询问有关社交媒体“帐户故意和专门试图在香港散播政治不和”的新闻剪辑(来源如下)。 根据 Twitter、Facebook 和谷歌在 2019 年 XNUMX 月的报道,在中华人民共和国创建了虚假的社交媒体账户,以故意破坏香港抗议活动的合法性,这是一场民主运动。 虽然我们承认技术在社会运动中发挥的积极作用,包括正在进行的香港抗议活动,但我们决定将香港抗议活动包括在 社会困境 是社交媒体如何被武器化的一个重要例子,尤其是那些有权力或资源的人,以传播替代议程,从而破坏和威胁合法运动,如香港抗议活动和世界各地的其他运动。
其他来源:
  • Twitter 博客,针对香港的信息操作, 链接
  • Facebook,从中国移除协调的不真实行为, 链接
  • Google,维护我们平台的完整性, 链接
  • Vox,中国如何使用 Facebook、Twitter 和 YouTube 传播有关香港抗议活动的虚假信息, 链接
  • Tech Crunch,推特称与中国有关的账户试图在香港“散播政治不和”, 链接

在制作了关于不道德使用个人数据的电影三年后,我们的团队非常重视隐私。 我们在网站上对 cookie 的使用仅限于帮助我们了解和改进网站如何用于我们的影响力活动的 cookie。 这包括收集基本的网站分析(例如访问的页面)和跟踪与我们的预告片的视图相关的。 我们不会将任何此类数据用于以任何方式在场外进行广告或跟踪用户,并且我们永远不会共享或出售您的数据。

我们相信为我们的用户提供透明度和对其数据的控制,这就是为什么在到达网站时会明确通知我们的 cookie 政策,并且用户有机会选择加入或退出。 如果用户不接受我们的默认 cookie 设置,则不会在其系统上放置任何 cookie,也不会对其进行跟踪。 他们还可以单击“Cookie 设置”来选择他们愿意接受的 Cookie 类别。

本着影片的精神,我们不断反思我们网站使用 cookie 和其他工具来尊重访问者的数据和隐私,并将继续进行改进。

对于观众流 社会困境 在美国,这部电影被归类为“挑衅性、调查性”。 它的评级为 PG-13,“因为某些主题元素、令人不安/暴力的图像和暗示性材料”。

有关您所在国家/地区的 Netflix 成熟度评级的更多信息,请访问: Netflix 如何决定成熟度评级?

虽然 Netflix、Hulu、HBO、Amazon Prime 和其他服务采用推荐算法,但流媒体平台与我们在电影中批评的社交媒体和搜索公司之间存在重要区别:在流媒体平台上,用户为内容付费,因此业务付费模型更符合我们的最佳利益。

Jaron Lanier 和我们的许多采访对象都有 主张 提取技术的一种解决方案是让用户用实际金钱而不是个人数据来支付服务费用。 通过每月订阅模式,Netflix 和其他流媒体服务就是这样一个例子。 无论用户每天在平台上花费 10 小时还是每周花费 XNUMX 小时,他们从用户那里赚取的收入都是相同的。 此外,许多流媒体服务的内容也符合严格的事实核查标准,并由真人策划。

感谢您有兴趣重播这部电影并激发 IRL 的对话! 虽然我们目前没有 社会困境 商品可供购买,我们一定会更新我们的 通讯 和网站,当我们这样做。

关于困境

从最广泛的意义上讲,算法只是要执行的一组计算,通常是为了执行数学函数。 人工智能 (AI) 是一个非常广泛的术语,适用于算法的许多不同高级用途,以模仿和/或取代对人类智能的需求。 与简单的固定算法不同,人工智能使用算法系统,可以通过不断优化以获得越来越好的结果(通常称为机器学习)来创建或修改算法,而无需人工干预。

随着我们数字生活产生的过剩数据的增长,企业越来越多地构建人工智能算法,利用这些数据来模拟我们的行为、瞄准我们并做出复杂的业务决策。 算法客观性的承诺使我们对这些数据驱动的方法产生了信任,但是当在纯数学环境之外使用时,算法反映了人类编程的逻辑实例——逻辑经常反映个人偏见或利益他们代表的公司。

注意力提取经济是指从人类注意力和参与度的货币化中获利的技术平台。 这包括但不限于 Facebook(拥有 Instagram)、Twitter、TikTok 以及像谷歌(拥有 YouTube)这样的公司,这些公司通过让用户对其平台的迷恋来获利,因为更多的参与意味着更多的广告收入。

监视资本主义是电影主题 Shoshana Zuboff 在她的书中普及的一个术语 监视资本主义时代. 它是指以我们通常不知道的方式对我们的在线活动进行大规模监视,以及将这些数据商品化以用于商业目的。 这些在线公司收集的数据规模空前,并用于预测和影响我们的购买、行为和想法,使它们成为一些 世界历史上最富有的公司.

自 2000 年代初以来,大型科技公司一直在使用定向广告,但随着智能手机的出现,情况发生了很大变化。 现在,监控功能不再是共享的家庭计算机,而是直接与个人用户相关联,从而可以收集更多数据。 平台不仅收集我们在注册时愿意提供的基本人口统计信息; 他们会跟踪每一次点击、每一次点赞、每张照片,无论我们以感叹号还是问号结束我们的帖子,然后将这些知识与强大的人工智能相结合。 更大的问题是如何使用提供给底层算法的数据来建模和预测所有人类行为——让出价最高的人能够以前所未有的规模影响我们,从决定选举到引发革命,这是我们以前从未见过的。

 

如果您认为技术会导致心理健康问题,我们鼓励您咨询心理学家。 如果您需要紧急支持或有自杀念头,可以匿名联系 预防自杀生命线 每周 24 天 7 小时拨打 1-800-273-8255 或使用他们的 个性化的信息 功能。 

我们目前正在开发资源以帮助人们重新调整他们与技术的个人关系。 欢迎输入邮箱订阅我们的邮件推送 保持关注。 我们还建议与您的社区成员和/或可信赖的家人或朋友联系,讨论您使用我们的 讨论指南 (特别是第 7、8 和 13 页)。 最后请参考 这个文件 获取 COVID-19 期间的心理健康和咨询资源。

电影主题 Jaron Lanier 说接近尾声 社会困境

“如果你有足够的特权能够逃脱不使用社交媒体的麻烦,那么你就有积极的责任摆脱它,因为你在那里只会使虐待他人的系统永久化。 因此,如果您有足够的特权度过难关,那就去做吧。 滚出体制。”

看拉尼尔的书, 立即删除社交媒体帐户的十个理由,对于更长的答案,我们强烈推荐。 

如果您因工作或其他原因无法删除您的帐户,或者不准备放弃,还有其他方法可以 采取行动. 同样重要的是要注意,删除自己的帐户并不能解决系统性问题(尽管它可能会改善您的生活!)。 电影主题特里斯坦哈里斯强调,即使是不在社交媒体上的人也会受到商业模式对社会的影响。 虽然个人减少或取消对公司的使用和支持是第一步,但我们需要对技术的设计和监管方式进行系统性变革,以全面解决和扭转我们共同的困境。

如果您依靠社交媒体来推广您的产品、与其他专业人士联系和/或作为激进主义的平台并且需要保留您或您公司的帐户,您可以考虑: 

  • 将您的社交媒体策略重点放在有机的参与形式上,而不是为广告付费,从而维持这种抽取式商业模式。 您还可以尝试使用 Patreon、Yelp 或 Kickstarter 等替代平台。 
  • 为您的企业撰写并链接到易于阅读的社交媒体“道德准则”,其中概述了您的隐私政策、社交媒体策略以及保护客户数据和福祉的承诺。 (看 社会困境 Code of Ethics 举个例子。)
  • 更多地参与个人行动以帮助拆除系统。 您作为这些平台上的企业主的声音具有力量,您可以用它来呼吁科技公司和/或立法者做出改变。 访问我们的 采取行动 有关如何参与的页面。

我们的团队将继续收集更多的建议和资源,我们鼓励您 订阅我们的新闻 更新。 

在考虑使用和支持哪些平台时,您可能会问自己以下问题: 

  • 公司如何收集和使用您的数据? 是否可以用它来对付你——例如,勾引或操纵你? 
  • 公司怎么赚钱? 收取订阅费和/或除软件外还销售硬件的公司倾向于更合乎道德地对待您的数据和福祉,因为他们并不完全依赖广告收入。 服务是免费的吗? 如果是这样,请记住您就是产品。 
  • 人们在平台上的行为是否文明? 
  • 该平台将您与谁和什么联系起来? 与使用算法推荐新人、产品和帖子的平台相比,促进真实联系和关系的服务(例如视频通话和短信)是更安全的选择。  

我们深信言论自由:人们有权持有和表达自己的意见。 但是,作为对象 Aza Raskin 和 Reneé Diresta 已经注意到了,“'言论自由'和'影响自由'之间是有区别的。”

科技工作者将成为改变我们当前现实并为所有人创造更人性化未来的关键力量。 由于我们的小团队由电影制作人而非技术人员组成,因此我们无法就新技术创意提供反馈或支持。 但是,作为起点,我们建议: 

举办活动

您可以从太平洋标准时间 9 月 12 日凌晨 00 点开始在 Netflix 上观看这部电影。

除 Netflix 订阅外,放映电影无需任何费用。 但是,对于团体放映,需要一次性授予许可。 您可以通过以下方式获得许可 注册您的活动 并同意 Netflix 的条款和条件。

团体可以结合我们的社交困境虚拟之旅自由宣传他们的活动,以此让其他人参与讨论电影中的问题。 我们要求这些活动是虚拟的,或者只针对具有严格社交距离协议的小团体进行。 为了遏制 COVID-19 的传播,我们目前不支持大规模的面对面活动。

对于在我们这里注册的人,我们提供了一系列计划、讨论和技术指南以及独家奖励剪辑,可以更深入地探讨电影中探讨的不同困境。 我们还计划在我们的网站上推广一些活动 视频 有兴趣公开其活动详细信息的人的页面。

最终将提供电影的缩短版本,但与此同时,我们很高兴提供独家奖励剪辑,深入探讨电影中检查的不同困境。 奖励剪辑在 3-4 分钟之间运行,可用作补充内容。 您可以通过以下方式查看和分享它们 注册您的活动.

如果您可以使用 iPad,则可以从 Netflix 将电影下载到您的 iPad。 下载后,您可以使用 HDMI 电缆将 iPad 连接到电视或投影仪,这样您就可以在没有互联网连接或担心流媒体中断的情况下分享电影。

注册您的活动以接收我们的技术指南,其中包括其他提示和技巧。

虽然这部电影可在 190 多个国家/地区在 Netflix 上观看并提供多种语言的字幕,但我们目前除了英语之外没有任何语言的资源。 务必 订阅我们的新闻,如果情况发生变化,我们会通知您。

要将您的音频或字幕更改为 Netflix 上的备用语言,请参阅说明 点击此处。

由于 COVID-19,在另行通知之前,我们无法参加任何面对面的节日。 我们参加的虚拟电影节数量有限,但为了保护电影的知识产权,我们专注于放映剪辑和/或参加电影节小组。

FAQ

About the film

Filming for The Social Dilemma took place between 2018-2019. After our premiere at the 2020 Sundance Film Festival, we made revisions in March-April 2020 and were able to incorporate additional materials as COVID-19 started to hit.

We were drawn to tell the stories of our changing glaciers and changing coral reefs because they were powerful signs of a huge global issue facing humanity: climate change. When we started talking with Tristan Harris and the Center for Humane Technology, we saw a direct parallel between the threat posed by the fossil fuel industry and the threat posed by our technology platforms. Tristan calls this “the climate change of culture,” an invisible force that is shaping how the world gets its information and understands truth. Our hope has always been to work on big issues, and we now see “the social dilemma” as a problem beneath all our other problems.

While interviewing tech insiders over the past two years, we kept learning about what actually drives the algorithms on the other side of our screens. Many of these conversations revealed a highly technical, nearly invisible force. As with Chasing Ice and Chasing Coral, our hope was to reveal the invisible, to bring the hidden story to the surface. We wanted to bring the algorithms to life, and to give viewers a new way to see and understand these tech platforms. Additionally, by following the family in the film we are able to see the different ways these platforms cause real-world harm, from Isla’s mental health struggle to Ben’s political polarization and their family’s inability to connect with one another.

All of the big tech platforms–Facebook, Google, Twitter, Youtube, etc–have a digital model of you.  All of the information they collect is gathered into the model, and their programs are constantly testing those models to see what works on you.  In the film, we bring this to life through a virtual avatar to represent the vast data that is being collected on each and every one of us. As they collect more data, the model becomes more and more accurate. For example, a 2016 ProPublica report found some 29,000 different criteria for each individual Facebook user–those models are only getting better and better.

We wanted to focus on the root causes of the problem as told by the people who contributed to its creation. That led us to focus on the former employees from the tech giants. However we can’t rely on the people who created the problem to be the ones to solve it. Our impact campaign will pass the mic to the activists, organizations and survivors of exploitative technology whose work and experiences will be instrumental in growing the humane tech movement.

There are countless positive things that have come from social media, and many more positive things will continue to come from it. But our point in the film is less about any one issue or campaign, but about the system as a whole. 

For years, we have only been hearing the positive aspects as broadcast by the platforms themselves. The promise to keep us all connected has given rise to many unintended consequences that we are now seeing on a global scale. By focusing the film on how these technologies prey on human weaknesses, we can shine a light on the devil’s bargain we’re forced to make when using these platforms and create the collective will to change them.

Many of the film subjects are working to advance our understanding of the problem or accelerating momentum around solutions. We plan to amplify their work as part of our impact campaign and encourage you to follow along at TheSocialDilemma.com. You can reference a list of the initiatives that they are involved in on The Film page.

Yes, absolutely. We are each on our own individual journey, but having worked on this issue now for nearly three years, the team has spent a lot of time reflecting on our own habits. Some of us have stopped using social media entirely, while others have embraced new norms around more mindful use. We encourage you to check out the resources on our site and subscribe to our newsletter for more information about how you can reboot your relationship with social media and extractive tech.

We’ve addressed this question in our Code of Ethics.

In The Social Dilemma there is a clip of Hong Kong anti-surveillance protesters taking down a “smart” lamp pole in protest of facial recognition and surveillance technology. Many months later, this clip was repurposed online with a misleading caption stating 5G is connected to the spread of COVID-19, inaccurately spreading a story that the clip was showing the take down of a 5G tower. As some have asked about the usage of this shot, we wanted to clarify that it was intentionally chosen as one of many examples of misinformation, to reinforce Tristan Harris’ point during that moment in the film that “we are being bombarded with rumors.” We invite you to watch the full film to see this in context and understand the many ways misinformation can spread and context can be skewed.

Some have asked about a news clip reporting that social media “accounts were deliberately and specifically attempting to sow political discord in Hong Kong” (sources included below).  According to reports from Twitter, Facebook, and Google in August of 2019, fake social media accounts were created in The People’s Republic of China to deliberately undermine the legitimacy of the Hong Kong protests, a pro-democracy movement. While we acknowledge the positive role technology has played in social movements, including the ongoing Hong Kong protests, we decided that including the Hong Kong protests in The Social Dilemma was an important example of how social media can also be weaponized, especially by those with power or resources, to propagate alternative agendas, thus undermining and threatening legitimate movements like the Hong Kong protests and others across the world.
Additional Sources:
  • Twitter Blog, Information operations directed at Hong Kong, Link
  • Facebook, Removing Coordinated Inauthentic Behavior From China, Link
  • Google, Maintaining the Integrity of Our Platforms, Link
  • Vox, How China used Facebook, Twitter, and YouTube to spread disinformation about the Hong Kong protests, Link
  • Tech Crunch, Twitter says accounts linked to China tried to ‘sow political discord’ in Hong Kong, Link

After three years of making a film about unethical uses of personal data, our team takes privacy very seriously. Our use of cookies on the site is strictly limited to those that help us understand and improve how the site is being used for our impact campaign. This includes gathering basic website analytics (e.g. pages visited) and tracking associated with views of our trailer. We do not use any of this data for advertising or tracking users offsite in any way, and we will not ever share or sell your data.

We believe in providing our users transparency and control over their data, which is why there is a clear notification regarding our cookie policy upon arriving on the site, and users have an opportunity to opt in or out. If a user does not accept our default cookie settings, there will be no cookies dropped on their system, and they will not be tracked. They also have the ability to click on “Cookie Settings” to choose which categories of cookies they would like to accept.

In the spirit of the film, we are constantly reflecting on our website’s use of cookies and other tools to respect our visitors’ data and privacy and will continue to make improvements.

For viewers streaming The Social Dilemma in the USA, the film is categorized as “Provocative, Investigative.” It is rated PG-13 “for some thematic elements, disturbing/violent images and suggestive material.”

For more information on Netflix maturity ratings in your country, please visit: How does Netflix decide maturity ratings?

While Netflix, Hulu, HBO, Amazon Prime and other services employ recommendation algorithms, there’s an important distinction between streaming platforms and the social media and search companies we critique in the film: on streaming platforms, users pay for the content, and therefore the business model is more aligned with our best interests.

Jaron Lanier and many of our interview subjects have advocated that one solution to extractive technology is for users to pay for the service with actual money, rather than personal data. With its monthly subscription model, Netflix and other streaming services are one such example. They make the same amount of money from users whether they spend 10 hours a day or one hour a week on the platform. Furthermore, many streaming services also hold their content to rigorous fact-checking standards, and are curated by real people.

Thanks for your interest in repping the film and spurring conversations IRL! While we do not currently have The Social Dilemma merchandise available for purchase, we’ll be sure to update our newsletter and website when we do.

About the dilemma

In the broadest sense, an algorithm is simply a set of calculations to be carried out, often to perform a mathematical function. Artificial intelligence (AI) is a very broad term that applies to the many different advanced uses of algorithms to mimic and/or replace the need for human intelligence. Unlike a simple fixed algorithm, AI uses a system of algorithms and can create or modify algorithms without human intervention through the process of continually optimizing for better and better results – often referred to as machine learning.

As the surplus of data generated by our digital life grows, corporations are increasingly building AI algorithms that draw upon this data to model our behavior, target us, and make complex business decisions. The promise of an algorithm’s objectivity has engendered our trust in these data-driven approaches, however when used outside of a purely mathematical context, algorithms reflect an instance of logic programmed by a human – logic that frequently reflects the individual bias or the interests of the company they represent.

The attention extraction economy refers to technology platforms that profit from the monetization of human attention and engagement. This includes, but is not limited to, Facebook (which owns Instagram), Twitter, TikTok and companies like Google (which owns YouTube) that profit from keeping users hooked on their platforms because more engagement means more advertising dollars.

Surveillance capitalism is a term popularized by film subject Shoshana Zuboff in her book The Age of Surveillance Capitalism. It refers to the mass surveillance of our online activity in ways that we are often unaware, and the commodification of this data for commercial purposes. The unprecedented scale of the data collected by these online companies and its use to predict and influence our purchases, behaviors, and thoughts has made them some of the richest companies in the history of the world.

Major tech companies have been using targeted advertising since the early 2000s, but things changed a lot with the advent of the smartphone. Now, instead of a shared family computer, the surveillance capabilities are tied directly to the individual user, allowing for much more data to be collected. Platforms are not just collecting basic demographic information that we willingly provide upon signup; they are tracking every click, every like, every photo, whether we end our post with an exclamation or question mark, and then combining this knowledge with powerful AI. The bigger problem is how the data feeding the underlying algorithms is being used to model and predict all of human behavior – giving the highest bidder the ability to influence us at scale like we’ve never seen before from determining elections to sparking revolutions.

 

If you believe that technology is contributing to mental health issues, we  encourage you to consult with a psychologist. If you are in need of urgent support or are experiencing suicidal thoughts, you can anonymously contact the Suicide Prevention Lifeline 24 hours, 7 days a week at 1-800-273-8255 or use their online chat feature. 

We’re currently developing resources to help people realign their personal relationships with technology. Subscribe to our newsletter to stay tuned. We also recommend connecting with members of your community and/or trusted family members or friends to talk about what you’re going through using our discussion guide (particularly pages 7, 8, and 13). Finally, please refer to this document for mental health and counseling resources during COVID-19.

Film subject Jaron Lanier says near the end of The Social Dilemma

“If you are privileged enough to be able to get away with not being on social media, you have a positive responsibility to get out of it, because you being there is only perpetuating a system that’s abusing other people. So if you’re privileged enough to get by, do it. Get out of the system.”

See Lanier’s book, Ten Arguments for Deleting Your Social Media Accounts Right Now, for a longer answer we highly recommend. 

If you can’t delete your accounts due to work or other reasons, or aren’t ready to let go, there are other ways to take action. It’s also important to note that deleting your own accounts won’t solve the systemic problem (though it will likely improve your life!). Film subject Tristan Harris has emphasized that even people who aren’t on social media are affected by what the business model is doing to society. While individuals reducing or eliminating their usage and support of companies is a first step, we need systemic changes to how technology is designed and regulated to fully address and reverse our shared dilemma.

If you rely on social media to promote your product, connect with other professionals, and/or as a platform for activism and need to keep your or your company’s accounts, you might consider: 

  • Focusing your social media strategy on organic forms of engagement rather than paying for ads, which sustain this extractive business model. You could also experiment with alternative platforms like Patreon, Yelp, or Kickstarter. 
  • Writing up and linking to an easy-to-read social media “Code of Ethics” for your business, in which you outline your privacy policy, social media strategy, and commitments to protecting your customers’ data and wellbeing. (See The Social Dilemma’s Code of Ethics as an example.)
  • Getting more engaged in personal forms of action to help dismantle the system. Your voice as a business owner on these platforms has power, and you can use it to call for change from tech companies and/or legislators. Visit our Take Action page for how to get involved.

Our team will continue to compile more suggestions and resources, and we encourage you to subscribe to our newsletter for updates. 

As you consider which platforms to use and support, you might ask yourself the following questions: 

  • How is the company collecting and using your data? Is it possible to use it against you – for example, to hook or manipulate you? 
  • How is the company making money? Companies that charge subscription fees and/or sell hardware in addition to software tend to treat your data and wellbeing more ethically because they don’t exclusively rely on advertising revenue. Is the service free? If so, remember that you’re the product. 
  • Do people behave civilly on the platform? 
  • Who and what does the platform connect you with? Services that foster authentic connection and relationships, like video calls and texting, are a safer bet than platforms that use an algorithm to recommend new people, products, and posts.  

We believe deeply in free speech: that people are entitled to hold and express their own opinions. But, as subject Aza Raskin and Reneé Diresta have noted, “there’s a difference between ‘freedom of speech’ and ‘freedom of reach.’”

Tech workers will be a critical force for changing our current reality and creating a more humane future for all. Because our small team is composed of filmmakers, not technology workers, we’re not in a position to provide feedback on or support with new technology ideas. However, as a starting point we recommend: 

Hosting an event

You can access the film on Netflix beginning September 9th at 12:00am PST.

There is no cost to screen the film beyond a Netflix subscription. However, for group screenings, a one-time grant of permission is required. You can obtain a grant of permission by registering your event and agreeing to Netflix’s Terms & Conditions.

Groups are free to promote their event in conjunction with our Social Dilemma Virtual Tour as a way to engage others in conversation about the issues featured in the film. We ask that these events are virtual or kept to small groups with strict social distancing protocols in place. To curb the spread of COVID-19 we are not supporting large scale in-person events at this time.

For those who register with us, we are offering a series of planning, discussion and technical guides as well as exclusive bonus clips that dive deeper into the different dilemmas examined in the film. We also plan to promote some events on our Virtual Tour page for those interested in making their event details public.

A shortened version of the film will be available eventually, but in the meantime we’re thrilled to offer exclusive bonus clips that dive deeper into the different dilemmas examined in the film. Bonus clips run between 3-4 mins and can be used as supplemental content. You can view and share them by registering your event.

If you have access to an iPad you can download the film to your iPad from Netflix. Once downloaded, you can connect your iPad to either a TV or projector using an HDMI cable, which will allow you to share the film without internet connection or worry of streaming interruptions.

Register your event to receive our technical guide, which includes other tips and tricks.

While the film is available in 190+ countries on Netflix and subtitled in many languages, we currently do not have resources in any language but English. Be sure to subscribe to our newsletter, and we’ll let you know if that changes.

To change your audio or subtitles to an alternate language on Netflix, instructions can be found here.

Due to COVID-19 we are not able to participate in any in-person festivals until further notice. We are participating in a limited number of virtual festivals, but, to protect the intellectual property of the film, we are focusing on screening clips and/or participating in festival panels.